Coutre wins 2019 Heflebower Nursing Scholarship

Abby Coutre, center, is congratulated by IVCH senior managers, left to right, CEO Tommy Hobbs; Medical/Surgical and ICU director Andrea Mecum; Chief Nursing Officer Robert Fortney, and Chief Fiscal Officer Lisa Lynch. (Photo contributed)

PERU - Abby Coutre, an Illinois Valley Community College nursing student who was inspired by her grandmother to become a nurse, is the 2019 winner of the Illinois Valley Community Hospital Foundation’s Dolores “Dee” Heflebower Memorial Nursing Scholarship. This award is supported by a fund established by Anne and the late Don Baker of Peru in memory of their daughter, the late Dolores “Dee” Heflebower.

“My grandmother, Joyce Donahue, dedicated her whole life to helping others while she worked as a registered nurse at IVCH for many years. I have always wanted to take after her and continue her legacy,” said Coutre. 

The Peru resident will enter the second year of IVCC’s associate degree nursing program this fall.

To be eligible to apply for the Heflebower scholarship, a student must have completed the first year of a college nursing program and be a resident of LaSalle, Bureau, Putnam or Marshall counties.


Video News
More In Local News