Amboy's Payne, Powers to play in IBCA All-Star game


PONTIAC – The Illinois Basketball Coaches Association (IBCA) has announced that its annual All-Star games will be held on Saturday, June 26 at Pontiac Community High School. Admission is $5.

There will be four games on the day, beginning with the 1A-2A South Girls taking on the 1A-2A North Girls at 11 a.m. In that contest, former Amboy High School standout players Abi Payne and Mallory Powers will compete for the North squad.

In addition to Payne and Powers, the rest of the 15-member North roster consists of Brooklyn Giertz (Seneca), Shae Hanrahan (Riverdale), Brooke Heiman (Indian Creek), Jennifer Heinberg (Marengo), Kayla Kodat (Dwight), Karlie Krogman (Eastland), Natalie Mann (Chicago Latin), Kerilyn Mirabelli (Westchester-St. Joseph), Corrina Noble (Galena), Tessa Prellberg (Hinckley-Big Rock), Hannah Schuringa (Elmhurst Timothy Christian), Katie Steinman (Bloomington Central Catholic) and Laura Strenk (Wilmette Regina Dominican).

Other area girls chosen to participate include Breelyn Borum and Brooke Borum of Sterling, and Abby Guthrie of Dixon, who are on the 3A-4A North roster.

Some of the boys that will play in the games include 1A-2A North squad members Drew Gaston of Indian Creek and Zach Derus of Rockford Lutheran.

Anthony Cooper of Ottawa and Drake Weber of LaSalle-Peru were chosen to the 3A-4A South team.

A complete list of the All-Star rosters can be found on the IBCA website at:

After the opening game of the day, the 1A-2A South Boys will battle the 1A-2A North Boys at 1 p.m.

The larger schools will take the court for the final two games of the day. The 3A-4A South Girls will tip off against the 3A-4A North Girls at 4 p.m., while the 3A-4A South Boys and the 3A-4A North Boys will conclude the action at 6 p.m.

The coaches for the girls’ teams will be Greg Bennett of Lewistown (1A-2A South), Steve Strough of Peotone (1A-2A North), Amanda Aydt of Mattoon (3A-4A South) and Mary Fendley of Hersey (3A-4A North).

The boys’ coaches include Tom Brannan of Casey-Westfield (1A-2A South), Ryan Tompkins of Gibson City-Melvin Sibley (1A-2A North), Eddie Mathews of Bartonville Limestone (3A-4A South) and Don Houston of Hillcrest (3A-4A North).

Come out and see the best young men and women of the state of Illinois play in the 2021 IBCA All-Star games. Former IBCA All-Star participants include retired Miami Heat NBA Finals MVP Dwyane Wade (Oak Lawn –Richards), the Golden State Warriors’ Andre Iguodala (Springfield Lanphier), the Toronto Raptors’ Fred Van Vleet (Rockford Auburn) and the Boston Celtics’ Evan Turner (Westchester St. Joseph).