Bucks for Books award granted to Lincoln School library

Stephanie Kleckner, librarian at Lincoln School in Mendota accepts a $100 BUCKS FOR BOOKS award from the LaSalle County Retired Teachers Association presented by member Kent Terry. This award is chosen by random for LaSalle County schools to benefit students and make current educators aware of LSCRTA. (Photo contributed)


OTTAWA – The LaSalle County Retired Teachers Association held their fall 2019 general meeting on Sept. 23 at Festivities Unlimited in Ottawa.

President Jackie Sapienza spoke about the Free Library box in front of the Dickenson House in Oglesby.

Members were informed on current foundation matters including grants for teachers and scholarships.

Matt Winchester, assistant regional superintendent of ROE 35, provided useful information regarding current practices relative to retired educators. He was joined by Krissy Darm, director of professional development and Alaina Johnson, communications and licensure specialist.

The slate of officers for 2000-2001 and 2001-2002 was announced. They are: President Jackie Sapienza, 1st Vice President Alice Joop, 2nd Vice President Cathy Erickson, Recording Secretary (Open Position), Corresponding Secretary Pauline Cashman, and Treasurer Cheryl Templeton. The two open positions are Recording Secretary and the standing committee chairperson for Benefits and Retirement Education. There were no volunteers for either of these two open positions at this time. If interested, please contact Conrad Spirrison or Jackie Sapienza.

The Bucks for Books schools receiving $100 from LSCRTA for their libraries are: Allen Otter Creek School in Ransom, Northwest Elementary School in LaSalle, LaSalle Peru High School in LaSalle, Harding Elementary School in Harding, Kimes Elementary School in Streator, Central Elementary School in Ottawa and Lincoln Elementary School in Mendota.

IRTA Area 7 Membership Chairperson Richard Small joined the meeting.

Following a brief break, guests, Doug Strand, a member of the TRS board of trustees, and Jim Bachman, IRTA executive director spoke.