Two new members elected to Mendota District 289 Board

Posted 4/13/21

MENDOTA - Area voters had only a handful of contested races to decide in the April 6 Consolidated Election.

This item is available in full to subscribers.

Please log in to continue

Log in

Two new members elected to Mendota District 289 Board


MENDOTA - Area voters had only a handful of contested races to decide in the April 6 Consolidated Election.

The voting results are unofficial. Results become official after validating and counting of the provisional ballots and the counting of mailed absentee ballots postmarked before Election Day and received by the County Clerk within 14 days of Election Day and after a canvass of the results has been conducted by each county’s Canvassing Board.

In Mendota Elementary School District 289, two candidates unseated long-time incumbents Tim Pohl and Sean Pappas. Elected to take over their positions were Holli Rapp with 554 votes and Amanda Coss with 429 votes. Pohl had 412 votes, Elizabeth Zinke picked up 317 votes and Pappas collected 278 votes.

In LaSalle County, Susan Hochstatter (341) beat out Michael Geber (285) to win the seat of Mendota Township Assessor.

The race for Mendota Township Highway Commissioner was extremely tight, with Carlos Ambler defeating Marvin Fultz, 360-330.

The four candidates chosen to serve as a Mendota Township Trustee were Michael Wasmer (543), Tracy Knapp (467), Jerry O’Sadnick (430) and Evan Wixom (408). Thomas Troutman received 364 votes.

In Ophir Township, there were five candidates on the ballot for four positions as Township Trustee. Winning seats were Stephen Nashold (47), Jeffery Landers (47), Ethel Bauer (42) and Paul Salander (37). James Sundberg had 29 votes.

In the city of Earlville, a new mayor will take over for long-time incumbent Michael Hall. Mark Actis received 119 votes, five more than Hall.

In Lee County, there was one race for an unexpired two-year term for Compton village trustee. Hazel Sims won the seat with 40 votes over Will Giza (11).

In the village of Paw Paw, incumbent Michael Torman won another term as village president, garnering 126 votes to topple challenger John Prentice, who received 52 votes.

Paw Paw voters also had to pick three candidates among four on the ballot for a four-year term as village trustee. Picking up the necessary votes to claim victory were Donna Chick (149), Anita K. Hopkins (130) and Karl J. Karlsson (86). Tara Milton received 82 votes.

There were five candidates vying for three seats as trustee in the village of Sublette. Voters decided on Julie Kessel with 46 votes and Robert Bulfer with 44 votes, while Larry Ellis and MacKenzie Belan tied with 37 votes. In settling the tie, mail-in absentee ballots must be postmarked by Election Day, April 6, and must arrive at the courthouse by April 20 to be counted. If there is still a tie after all of the votes are counted, then a lottery is held at the county. Doug Worrell finished with 35 votes.

For the position of Brooklyn Township Highway Commissioner, Gerald A. Hanson won the race with 93 votes over challenger Jerroll K. Swope, who had 77 votes.

In Bureau County, the race for LaMoille Township Supervisor was won by David Weeks with 102 votes over Bonnie Pearson, who received 56 votes.

In the city of Mendota, there were no contested races. Candidates and vote totals included David Boelk (mayor, 496), Emily McConville (city clerk, 524), James Fitzpatrick (First Ward, 155), Leo Hochstatter (Second Ward, 121), Kyle Kim (Third Ward, 87) and Vicki Johnson (Fourth Ward, 166). There was no candidate for treasurer.

The four candidates for four positions on the Graves-Hume Public Library Board were Nancy Jackson (476), Adriana Calamaco (376), Luz Schmidt (412) and Carolline Lewis (362).

There were also four candidates for four seats on the Mendota High School District 280 Board. They included James Strouss (786), Jim Sundberg (735), Jim Lauer (780) and Aaron Elston (758).

In the village of Troy Grove, Charles Mammen received 39 votes for president, Cassandra Stovall-Milus had 37 votes for clerk and David Thompson (36), Mitchell Melau (28) and Michael Wujek (38) were on the ballot for trustee.