Northbrook 8th graders earn diplomas

Posted 5/25/21

MENDOTA – Northbrook Middle School held its eighth-grade graduation ceremony on May 20 at the middle school track.

This item is available in full to subscribers.

Please log in to continue

Log in

Northbrook 8th graders earn diplomas


MENDOTA – Northbrook Middle School held its eighth-grade graduation ceremony on May 20 at the middle school track.

Each graduating student received six tickets for family members and friends to attend. Seating was in the bleachers and on the field and track. It was a step toward a more normal ceremony than the one in 2020 when graduates rode in family vehicles through the Northbrook front driveway and received their diplomas through vehicle windows.

The ceremony began with the students walking to their seats to Pomp & Circumstance. Class member Nicholas Reyes led the attendees in reciting the Pledge of Allegiance and then principal Paula Daley gave the welcome and introductory remarks.

The next portion of the program was the presentation of awards. Megan Gatza, guidance counselor, read the recipients of President’s Education Awards.

Gold for Academic Excellence: Eric Aranda, Ava Beetz, Shelby Bentley, Ella Coss, Jesus Escobar, Braiden Freeman, Claire Hanson, Quin Holland, Anthony Kelson, Kennedy Knaff, Dessa Komitas, Samuel Matura, Gresy Patel, Heli Patel, Kaley Siemer, Lea Turner.

Silver for Educational Achievement: Samantha Ascensio, Marco Balcazar, Conner Chambers, Ivan Espinoza, Loralie Hart, Jose Hernandez, Kayla Hernandez, Gregoria Mendez, Nicholas Reyes, Lissette Sandoval, Maybriana Schultz.

Kylie Clary, art instructor, presented the Reed Rydberg Memorial Awards to Alivia Avila and Cameron Kordick.

Principal Daley announced the American Legion Award winners, Claire Hanson and Anthony Kelson, and also the recipient of the James D. Hume Citizenship Award, which went to Joshua Sondgeroth.

Previous award winners were Travis Mumm and Brenna Rummery, John Ourth Award; Ella Coss, Jeanne McKenzie Student-Athlete Award; and Jillian Younger, LaSalle County Board Student Excellence Award.

Next, assistant principal Tyler Pearce presented the Class of 2021, after which each student was granted their certificate of promotion by superintendent Dr. Kristen School, board president Theresa Komitas and Daley.

The ceremony ended with the recessional, Chorale & Recessional.

Members of the Class of 2021 are:

Eric Aranda, Aiden Arjes, Fernando Arteaga, Gabriel Arteaga, Jorge Arteaga, Noemi Arteaga, Samantha Ascensio, Alivia Avila, Marco Balcazar, Makenzie Bean, Ava Beetz, Shelby Bentley, Ryn Booth, James Bradley, Ashley Caracheo, David Casas, Conner Chambers, Dejuan Colon Jr., Katelyn Cook, Jaxon Cooper;

Karina Coronel, Ella Coss, Nathaniel DeWaele, Sofia Duarte, Gavin Elston, Cameron Escatel, Jasmin Escatel, Jesus Escobar, Ivan Espinoza, Aidan Fisher, Jacqueline Flores, Braiden Freeman, Ashley Garcia, Crystal Garcia, Jack Gillespie, Joseph Gomez, Heaven Gonzalez, Rosa Gonzalez, Keith Grim, Claire Hanson, Loralie Hart;

Jocee Haun, Jose Hermosillo, Kayla Hernandez, Lidia Hernandez, Jose Hernandez-Zavala, Quin Holland, Kaleb Houle, Horacio Huizar, Juliana Kappes, Andrianna Karahalios, Cameron Kelly, Anthony Kelson, Aiden Kent-Tucker, Christopher Kimes, Kennedy Knaff, Dessa Komitas, Cameron Kordick, Brandon Leadley, Eric Lopez, Luis Magallanes;

Guadalupe Maldonado, Logan Martin, Samuel Matura, Evan McPheeters, Damian Medina, Gregoria Mendez, Travis Mumm, Shairy Negron, Brisa Nunez, Leonard Oregon, Nevaeh Orozco, Sophia Pappas, Gresy Patel, Heli Patel, Joel Price, Diego Raya, Nicholas Reyes, Domenic Richey, Brenna Rummery, Reyli Sandoval;

Lissette Sandoval, Noe Sarabia, Jason Schroeder, Maybrianna Schultz, Angilberto Serrano, Quinn Sheaves, Kaley Siemer, Brielle Smith, Joshua Sondgeroth, Wyatt Sondgeroth, Madison Sproston, Sebastian Stadler, Lea Turner, Gabriel Vallejo, Erick Vasquez, Anastacio Vazquez, Faith Villegas, Rhett Watson, Anthony Wilmoth, Jillian Younger.