Local photographers encouraged to enter Rep. Demmer’s photo contest

Submissions due by Feb. 12


DIXON - Are you a nature lover, architecture fanatic, or simply enjoy taking pictures everywhere you go around northwest Illinois? If so, this contest is for you! Area residents are invited to submit a photo for entry in the “Rich History of the 90th District Photo Contest” offered by State Representative Tom Demmer.

Contest participants should submit their photos of historical sites, buildings and landmarks that highlight the rich history of the district and the region. A map of the 90th District can be found at tomdemmer.com. Participants may submit as many entries as they would like before the deadline of 6 p.m. on Friday, Feb. 12. Participants should include their name, phone number and location where the photo was taken with each entry. Entries should be emailed to photos@tomdemmer.com.

“Our photo contest is a way to celebrate our region’s heritage and recognize the talents of local residents who have a passion for photography,” Representative Demmer said. ““I am always impressed by the quality and creativity of the entries. The 90th District is filled with eye-catching beauty, and contest participants are always able to capture the heart of what makes our communities such a special place to live through the lenses of their cameras.”

Winning photos will be placed on display in Springfield and at Demmer’s Dixon office for the entire 102nd General Assembly (2021-2022), and the winning photographers will receive an official House of Representatives certificate of recognition. For questions or more information, please e-mail the office or visit tomdemmer.com.

The 90th District is located in Ogle, Lee, DeKalb and LaSalle counties and includes all or portions of the following communities: Amboy, Ashton, Byron, Compton, Creston, Davis Junction, DeKalb, Dixon, Earlville, Franklin Grove, Grand Detour, Hillcrest, Lake Holiday, Lee, Leland, Lost Nation, Malta, Mendota, Monroe Center, Nelson, Oregon, Paw Paw, Polo, Rochelle, Sandwich, Shabbona, Somonauk, Steward, Stillman Valley, Sublette, Waterman and West Brooklyn.