National Honor Society inducts 21 Mendota High School students

The 2020 inductees, front row left to right, are Harvey Vela, Jenna O’Donnell, Esmeralda Perez, Grace Leifheit, Leilani Landeros, Bonnie Hall, Amanda Barrett, Madi Mikolasek, Keina Arteaga and Daisy Arteaga; back row, Rosevelia Rocha, Emilio Raya, Alison Schlesinger, Josh Wiley, Kevin Lewis, Lily Linden, Twila Martinson, Ella Massey, Eve McDowell, Amellia Bromenschenkel and Piper Artman. (Photo contributed)

MENDOTA - The Mendota High School Chapter of the National Honor Society inducted 21 students into full membership of the National Honor Society on Monday, Feb. 3 at Mendota High School.

President Hannah Ambler conducted the ceremony, assisted by the current members of the National Honor Society.

Ambler spoke to the initiates and audience about the requirements and responsibilities of being a National Honor Society Member. Current members giving speeches included Sean Dullard (scholarship), Noah DeLong (character), Anna Bokus (service), and Maren Wise (leadership). Other current members participating in the induction ceremony included Vice-President Cole Stremlau, Co-Secretaries Rachel Brandner and Devin Wade, and members, Victoria Arteaga, Aaron Brandner, Ashleigh Collins, Gavin Glazebrook, and Haleigh Wendel.

The initiates received a pin, certificate, and candle as symbols of the National Honor Society. Those inducted were Class of 2020 members Kevin Lewis, Esmeralda Perez, Alison Schlesinger, and Josh Wiley. Class of 2021 members inducted included Daisy Arteaga, Keina Arteaga, Piper Artman, Amanda Barrett, Amellia Bromenschenkel, Bonnie Hall, Leilani Landeros, Grace Leifheit, Lily Linden, Twila Martinson, Ella Massey, Eve McDowell, Madi Mikolasek, Jenna O’Donnell, Emilio Raya, Rosevelia Rocha, and Harvey Vela.

To qualify for the National Honor Society at Mendota High School, a student must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.4 on a 4.0 scale. Then teachers rate each student on their observations of the candidate’s service, character, and leadership. The final selection is made by a committee comprised of 7-9 faculty members, an administrator, and the National Honor Society sponsor. The new members and families are then notified of the selection.

Students’ names are on file at the offices of the National Association of Secondary School Principals as well as in the school’s file. Members wear a gold NHS stole at graduation and have a special designation on their diplomas.

The 2019 NHS inductees, front row left to right, are Rachel Brandner, Victoria Arteaga, Sean Dullard, Hannah Ambler, Anna Bokus, Maren Wise and Haleigh Wendel; back row, Cole Stremlau, Aaron Brandner, Gavin Glazebrook, Noah DeLong, Ashleigh Collins and Devin Wade (not in view). (Photo contributed)


Video News
More In Local News