MHS Band tours Nashville; to perform Graduation Concert on April 25

© 2018-Mendota Reporter

Twenty band students will perform at their final high school band concert and be recognized at the MHS Graduation Concert, April 25. Graduating seniors, left to right, front row, include Hannah Corey, Hope McDowell, Daniela McConville, Devin Armstrong; second row, Stephanie Westphal, Annah Scholl, Valerie Leonard, Jacquelynn Wendel, Kianne Brown, Hannah Westphal; third row, Tony Escatel, Lily Delao, Sydnee Hansen, Katelynn Houle, Esmeralda Arteaga, Sarah Westphal; back row, Lucas Anderson, Samantha Masini, Melissa Wohrley, and Erik Grenter. (Photo contributed)

MENDOTA – The Mendota High School Band returned last week from a four-day performance tour to Nashville, Tenn. While on tour, the band performed at the historic Belle Meade Plantation and at a retirement community in Nashville. The band also made a stop in Bloomington, Ind. for a clinic with Professor Stephen W. Pratt, Director of Bands at Indiana University. In addition to wonderful musical performances, MHS Band members had the chance to experience Nashville’s great musical heritage. Students attended a performance at and took a back-stage tour of the Grand Ole Opry, explored the Country Music Hall of Fame, and toured the historic RCA Studio B where many famous musicians – including Elvis Presley and Dolly Parton – recorded albums.

MHS Belle Mead

Mendota High School Band performs at the historic Belle Meade Plantation during a four-day tour to Nashville, Tenn. (Photo contributed)

The MHS Band will share music from its Nashville tour with the Mendota Community at the 61st annual Graduation Concert next week on Tuesday, April 25. The event is free and will begin at 7:30 p.m. in the Mendota High School Auditorium.

The Graduation Concert will be the last performance with members of the 2017 Senior Band Class. Those seniors include Lucas Anderson, Devin Armstrong, Esmeralda Arteaga, Kianne Brown, Hannah Corey, Lily Delao, Tony Escatel, Erik Grenter, Sydnee Hansen, Katelynn Houle, Valerie Leonard, Samantha Masini, Daniela McConville, Hope McDowell, Annah Scholl, Jacquelynn Wendel, Hannah Westphal, Sarah Westphal, Stephanie Westphal, and Melissa Wohrley.

In addition to recognizing this year’s seniors, Mendota High School Directors Chris Dortwegt and Lori Schrock will also present end-of-the-year awards, including the Oris Setchell Elias Scholarship, John Becker Memorial Award and the prestigious John Philip Sousa Award.

Video News
More In Home