Mendota student among St. Bede Academy’s Illinois State Scholars

St. Bede Academy’s Illinois State Scholars include, front row left to right, Ryan Edwall, Seth Ludford, Gianna Elias, Kirsten Sibbaluca; middle row, Jack Line, John Potthoff, Curt Lang, Alicia Koogler, Meygan Echols, Payton Linnig, Olivia Smith; back row, Maxwell Manning, Alex Dittmar, Luke Sanchez, Hannah Yerly and Pamela Needs. (Photo contributed)

PERU - Saint Bede Academy is pleased to announce that 16 students from the class of 2019, including Holy Cross School graduate Curt Lang of Mendota, have been recognized as Illinois State Scholars. This represents 28 percent of the class.

This recognition, given annually by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission (ISAC), honors the academic achievements of more than 21,000 high school students from across the state that demonstrate superior academic potential. Illinois State Scholars represent about the top 10 percent of high school seniors from 757 high schools across the state. Students are chosen based on a combination of exemplary ACT, SAT and/or the Prairie State Achievement Exam scores and/or class rank at the end of the junior year. High School guidance counselors work in conjunction with ISAC to determine the winners.

Michelle Mershon, principal at St. Bede Academy, said they are very proud of the students’ accomplishment. “These students have worked hard all year and exemplified the standards set forth by the Illinois State Scholar program. We take great pride in our students and their ability to meet the requirements set forth by the Commission each year.”

The honored students include Alex Dittmar (Peru Catholic) of Oglesby, Meygan Echols (Waltham) of Ottawa, Ryan Edwall (Peru Catholic) of Utica, Gianna Elias (JFK) of Spring Valley, Alicia Koogler (Peru Catholic) of LaSalle, Curt Lang (Holy Cross) of Mendota, Jack Line (Trinity Catholic) of Peru, Payton Linnig (Dimmick School) Dimmick, Seth Ludford (Waltham) of LaSalle, Maxwell Manning (Ladd Grade School) of Ladd, Pamela Needs (Homeschool) of Peru, John Potthoff (Dalzell Grade School) of Spring Valley, Luke Sanchez (Trinity Catholic) of LaSalle, Kirsten Sibbaluca (LP Christian) of Dalzell, Olivia Smith (Peru Catholic) of Ladd, and Hannah Yerly (Peru Parkside) of Peru.


Video News
More In Home