Mendota H.S. holds National Honor Society induction

Mendota High School held its National Honor Society induction ceremony on Feb. 7. Twenty-three students were inducted into full membership of the society. (Photo contributed)

MENDOTA – The Mendota High School Chapter of the National Honor Society inducted 23 students into full membership of the National Honor Society on Feb. 7 at Mendota High School.

President Liam McGann conducted the ceremony, assisted by the current members of the National Honor Society. Both McGann and NHS Vice President Alex Stremlau spoke to the initiates and audience about the requirements and responsibilities of being a National Honor Society member. Current members giving speeches included Zachari Compell (scholarship), Faith Anderson (character), Aliza Salinas-Cervantes (service), and Paige Manning (leadership). Other current members participating in the induction ceremony included Co-Secretaries Olivia Ross and Elizabeth Schillinger, and members Bailey Baird, Natalie Bodmer, Logan Brandner, Lizzie Bresley, Elle Buettner, Vanessa Escatel, Zoe Finley, Ethan Hanaman, Sophie Holland, Jenna Kerchner, Theodore Landgraf, Lorena Magallanes, Maya Martin, Andrew Stamberger, Allison Stewart, and Isabella Tolentino

The initiates received a pin, certificate, and candle as symbols of the National Honor Society. Those inducted were Class of 2022 members Briana Avila, Abigail Davis, Kya DeLao, and Celeste Serrano. Class of 2023 members inducted included Karli Althaus, Edgar Arteaga, William Bentley, Abril Diaz, Isabelle Escatel, Alexis Finley, Zoe Hanson, Katie Jenner, Abby Kunz, Neal Linden, Alex Medina, Karli Miars, Alayna Nosalik, Carlos Olivas, Ricky Orozco, Avery Pierce, Emma Schultz, Talya Schwaegerman and Garret Zinke.

To qualify for the National Honor Society at Mendota High School, a student must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.4 on a 4.0 scale. Then the MHS Faculty rates each student based on their observations of the candidate’s service, character, and leadership. The final selection is made by a committee comprised of seven to nine faculty members, an administrator, and the National Honor Society sponsor. The new members and families are then notified of the selection.

Students’ names are on file at the offices of the National Association of Secondary School Principals as well as in the school’s file. Members wear a gold National Honor Society stole at graduation and have a special designation on their diplomas.


More In Local News