Mendota harriers end home season

The Mendota cross country teams ran for the final time this season on their home course on Oct. 3. Runners from four area schools convened at the Lake Mendota course.

In the girls' race, Leah Watters of Oregon won in a time of 21:50, ahead of Dixon's Taylor Harrison (22:48) and Streator's Abby Seaton (23:07).

Devin Wade had Mendota's top performance in a time of 24:11, placing eighth in the field of 41.

The Oregon squad took top team honors with a score of 38, ahead of Dixon's 52.  Mendota was fifth with 106.

Streator's Rafael Pantoja was first across the line in the boys' race with a time of 18:00, followed by Dixon harriers Dominic Lozano (18:38) and David Rollinger (19:00).

Andrew Stamberger posted the top Mendota finish of 20:23, good for ninth in the field of 44.

The Streator boys tallied 20 points for the win, with Hall's 55 good for second.  Mendota was fourth with a total of 94 points.


Teams from across the state converged on Shady Oaks Golf Course in Amboy on Oct. 8 for this year's Columbus Day Invite.

Victor Echeveste of Minonk Fieldcrest won the freshman-sophomore 2.4-mile race in a time of 13:45 to start off the day.

Monticello High School posted 27 points to win the team title, followed by Amboy-LaMoille with 102.

Mendota's top time belonged to Andrew Stamberger (15:52, 30th). He was joined by Ty Connelly (16:40, 48th), Trent Stamberger (17:53, 73rd) and Hunter Siebert (22:07, 100th).

The girls’ race was won by Calin Gaulrapp of Rock Falls (14:04).

Mendota's top time belonged to Wade (23:40, 102nd)

Rock Falls’ girls won the title with 62 points, followed by Winnebago's 76.  Mendota placed 22nd.

In the boys' varsity run, Garret Dixon of Monticello had the top time of 15:16.

Clifton Central took the title with 58 points, ahead of Monticello's 83 and Elmwood's 95.


Video News
More In Sports