John Ourth Award presented

Northbrook Middle School eighth graders Sophie Holland, left, and Tyler Valdez, right, are this year’s NMS recipients of the Illinois Principal Association's John Ourth Award. The students were selected by their teachers to represent NMS at the John Ourth Student Recognition Breakfast at Streator High School on Feb. 15. The breakfast was sponsored by the Starved Rock Region of the Illinois Principals Association. Students are chosen based on character, citizenship, leadership skills, and scholarship as well as possessing the potential to make a change in the world. John Ourth is remembered by members of the IPA for his commitment to causes such as the IPA and the National Association for Elementary School Principals. Congratulating the students is Paula Daley, NMS principal. (Photo contributed)