Education Briefs 7-3

Iowa State dean’s list

AMES, Iowa - Two Earlville students, Jenna Cowan and Gabrielle Cultra, have been included on the Iowa State University College of Agriculture and Life Sciences spring dean’s list. The dean’s list honors students who have earned a grade point average of 3.5 or higher for the semester. 

Lockard receives nursing scholarship

DANVILLE - Lakeview College of Nursing in Danville and Charleston announced numerous scholarship awards for the summer 2019 semester. Among the recipients is Delaney Lockard, of Mendota, who received an LCN Board Scholarship Honoring Joann Schulenburg. Lockard attends Lakeview’s Charleston campus.

Lakeview College of Nursing Scholarships are made possible by generous donations to the College’s scholarship endowment fund and are awarded based on criteria established by the donor as well as the financial need and/or academic merit of each applicant.

Lakeview College of Nursing offers a Bachelor of Science in Nursing degree and is a single-purpose, private institution that has specialized in nursing education in the Danville area since 1894. Lakeview began offering a cooperative program with Eastern Illinois University in Charleston in the fall of 2001. 

St. Ambrose dean’s list

DAVENPORT, Iowa – Three local students, Kathryn McNally and Annah Scholl of Mendota and Gillian Sutton of LaMoille, have been named to the St. Ambrose University Dean’s List for the spring term. To be included, students must achieve a grade-point average of 3.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale.

Founded in 1882 by the Diocese of Davenport, St. Ambrose is a private, coeducational, comprehensive university with a firm grounding in the liberal arts, accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association. For more information go to


Video News
More In Local News