Chamber announces Shop Local winners

Grand prize winner

Joyce Reynolds of Earlville is the Grand Prize winner in the Mendota Area Chamber of Commerce’s Shop Local promotion. She won a gift basket worth over $1,000 in gifts and prizes. (Photo contributed)


Consolation winners

Consolation winners in the Chamber’s Shop Local promotion, left to right, are Richard Jackson, Anne Caylor, and Cindy Holdenrid, all of Mendota. Each won a gift basket valued at $300. (Photos contributed)

MENDOTA – The Mendota Area Chamber of Commerce recently announced the winners of their Shop Local promotion. Joyce Reynolds of Earlville was the Grand Prize winner. Consolation winners were Richard Jackson, Anne Caylor, and Chris and Cindy Holdenrid, all of Mendota. The winners received gift baskets fill with prizes.

The promotion ran from Nov. 18 through Dec. 31. For every $10 spent at a participating Mendota business, cardholders received a sticker to put on their cards. Completed cards were due to the Chamber office by Jan. 4 to be entered to win the grand prize gift basket worth over $1,000 in prizes.

This year, 642 completed cards were turned in, tracking $160,500 (an increase of $15,250 from 2016) spent in Mendota during the promotion.

As a thank you for shopping local this year and helping the Mendota economy, the Chamber also awarded $20 in Chamber Bucks to 10 lucky people. Chamber Bucks winners were Karen Frey, Madison Billhorn, Linda Erlenborn, Stephanie Ramer, Deb Nettleton, Yesenia Guerra, Briana Ganz, Susan Hoffman, Marion Quintana, and Linda Kofoid.