Area students among inductees into IVCC English Honor Society

OGLESBY – Illinois Valley Community College’s Mu Alpha chapter of the Sigma Kappa Delta English Honor Society for two-year colleges inducted 34 students at its annual induction ceremony April 28.

Among the students recognized were:

Fall 2021: Keina Arteaga, Emme G. Bottom, Aaron Levi Brandner, Rachel Anne Brandner, Izabella S. Nanez, Natalie S. Orozco, Rosevelia Rocha, and Harvey Vela of Mendota;

Spring 2022: Elisabeth J. Farrell of Earlville; Casen E. Cherry of La Moille; Briana Avila and Allison M. Stewart of Mendota; Jonathan J. Schmidt of West Brooklyn.

Madeleine M. Hunter of Standard is the chapter’s Fall 2020-Spring 2022 officer, vice-president and public relations person.

Hunter, along with faculty co-sponsors of Mu Alpha, Dr. Kimberly Radek-Hall and Delores Robinson, led the new members in reciting the pledge and mission. Dean of Humanities, Fine Arts, and Social Sciences, Dr. Lirim Neziroski, opened the ceremony with a congratulatory message for inductees.

Headquartered in Decatur, Ala., SKD has 127 chapters nationwide to recognize and reward outstanding achievement in English language and literature, provide cultural stimulation and promote interest in English on two-year campuses and the communities they serve, and foster English in all its aspects, including creative and critical writing.


More In Local News