Amboy's E. Jones chosen as all-stater

AMBOY – Amboy High School girls’ basketball player Elly Jones has earned post-season honors for her play during the 2022-23 season.

Jones, a junior, was recognized by the Illinois Basketball Coaches Association by being named to the 2023 Special Mention All-State Team.

Other players from the Northwest Upstate Illini Conference to achieve all-state honors are Gracie Furlong and Addie Hefel of Galena, both first team; Megan Rennegarbe of Orangeville, second team; Taylor Burcham of Galena, third team; Grace Groezinger of Lena-Winslow, Elaina Rager of Pecatonica and Lindee Poper of Polo, special mention team.

From the Three Rivers Conference, Shelby Veltrop of Morrison was selected to the second team, while Camryn Huston of Monmouth-Roseville, Kyla Elsbury of Sherrard, Addison Pickens of Sherrard and Camryn Veltrop of Morrison were named to the special mention team.

From the Little 10 Conference, Earlville junior Madyson Olson made the special mention squad, as did Anna Hermann of Hinckley-Big Rock, and Paisley Twait and Jenna Setchell, both of Serena.